Crab Dip

Standard

Today I’m going to share one of my FAVORITE treats.  I grew up in Maryland where eating crabs is a summertime tradition.  I have no problems picking a crab and getting messy.  In fact I enjoy it!

It’s your lucky day!  Not only am I going to spare you the details and pictures of me picking crabs, but I am going to share my crab dip recipe with you.  This recipe has been passed around from friend to friend and family to family.  Each changing it a little.  What I’m sharing with you is what I feel is perfection.

First, preheat your oven to 350.

Next grab your ingredients:CrabDipAfter

~ 1lb crab meat ( I prefer lump!)

~1/2 cup mayo

~1/2 cup sour cream

~8oz whipped cream cheese

~2-3tbs old bay seasoning (I like A LOT*)

~1tbs parsley

~1 1/2 cups shredded colby jack cheese

~ (optional) dash of worshishire sauce

Topping

~1/2 cup shredded cheddar ( I like sharp)

~sprinkle old bay seasoning

*Be easy with the old bay. if you use too much it will come out too salty!

Ok, so now you are going to want to mix the mayo, sour cream, cream cheese, old bay, parsley, colby jack cheese, and worshishire sauce. DO NOT ADD THE CRAB YET!

CrabDipMixedIn a separate bowl go through your crab meat and pick out any shells that may have been missed.  Once this is done you can add the crab meat to the mixture, being sure not to break apart the lumps!  I like to use a baking spatula to mix as it will mix it well without breaking apart the meat.

CrabDipBefore

After it is all mixed together pour mixture into a glass pie pan.  You can substitute another pan if you like I just believe glass is the easiest to get out the dip. Top with cheddar cheese and old bay.

Bake in the oven for 3o-40 minutes.  Remove and ENJOY!

Did you like this recipe? Leave a comment and Head over to my Facebook page and share your pictures!  I would love to hear what you have to say.

One response »

Leave a Reply

