The B Word

Standard

You read that right.  I going to talk about the B word.  Which B word you ask?  The one that SO many americans have turned from something beautiful and wonderful into something to hide and sometimes even be ashamed.

Breasts.  Yes, breasts.  Well more specifically, breastfeeding.

It is world breastfeeding week.  A week to announce to the world.  Yes I breastfeed! I do it because I can.  I do it because I should.  I do it because I choose to!  It is not something of which to be ashamed.  It is something that makes me proud to be a mother.

There are many reasons to breastfeed. Let’s look at my favorites:

~ It’s the perfect first food for you baby.

~It gives your baby ALL the nourishment they will need for the first 6 months of life.

~ Breastfeeding lowers the risks for many diseases for both mom and baby.

~The longer you nurse the better your protection.

~The poo is less smelly than formula poo.

~Breastfeeding can burn around 500 calories a day.

~ Breast milk (if feeding from the breast) is always the right temperature.  No heating needed!

~It saves you precious diaper bag space because you never need to carry a bottle.

~Along those same lines you never have to clean bottles either.

~It gives you cuddle time with your baby. (Yes I know any mother, or even any family member, can give cuddles whenever they choose but breastfeeding MAKES you take that time out to do it.  There is NO forgetting or running out of time.)

~Breastfeeding gives your breasts a purpose.

~ It’s FREE!!!!!

I feel like I could go on and on but I won’t do that to you.

Breastfeeding is a wonderful thing.  Something that many feel has been perverted by our American culture.  So I say this to you: Be strong through the initial nursing days.  It gets better.  MUCH better and pretty quickly too.  Don’t let people make you feel like your making the wrong choice.  Your not! It’s your baby your choice!*  Don’t feel the need to cover up.  It’s your right as well as the right of your baby.  There are laws to protect you, and your baby will probably hate being covered up anyhow.  You are doing a wonderful thing, stay strong!

And remember, ALWAYS be the support you wish you had while you were (are) breastfeeding!!

Leave me a comment and tell me why YOU love to breastfeed.

*I just want to say that I know breastfeeding isn’t for everyone.  I know that for many reasons sometimes it just doesn’t work out.  I breastfed my son for 5 months.  Him and I both wanted to go much longer but he just wasn’t gaining weight.  I tried everything and nothing worked.  Sometimes that’s just the way it is.  I also know that breastfeeding isn’t a part of everyone’s lifestyle.  I am not a breastfeeding nazi.  Ultimately the best thing for YOUR child is up to YOU.  Do what works best for your family.

Leave a Reply

